Peshawar school victims among 112 recipients of awards (Dawn (Pakistan))

President Mamnoon Hussain conferred on Monday civil and military awards on those who had achieved distinction in their fields.
A total of 112 awards – 52 civil and 60 military – were given away at an investiture ceremony held on the occasion of Pakistan Day.
The ceremony was attended by top military officers, political leaders, government officials and foreign diplomats.
Take a look: Pakistan holds first Republic Day parade in seven years
The teachers and students of the Army Public School, Peshawar, were decorated with top civil awards for demonstrating bravery when terrorists attacked the institution on Dec 16 last year, killing 135 students and 10 staffers, including the principal. The schools former principal Tahira Qazi and teacher Saima Zareen were awarded Sirtara-e- Shujaat while others were given Tamgha-e-Shujaat.
Other prominent people who received their awards included Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) Director General Lt Gen Rizwan Akhtar, Director General of the Inter-Services Public Relations Maj Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa, Maj Gen Sanaullah Khan Niazi (late), religious scholar Agha Hassan Abedi, National University of Science and Technology Rector Mohammad Ashgar, distinguished journalist Minhaj Barna (late) and sports journalist Dr Nauman Hamid Niaz.
Following is the list of those who received military awards:
HILAL-e-IMTIAZ (MILITARY): Air Marshal Saeed Mohammad Khan, Air Marshal Javaid Ahmad, Rear Admiral Syed Imdad Imam Jafri, Maj Gen Mohammad Muazzam Ali, Air Vice Marshal Sohail Ahmad Malik, Air Vice Marshal Mohammad Salman, Maj Gen Mohammad Tariq Halim Suri, Rear Admiral Shah Sohail Masood, Maj Gen Syed Badshah Hussain Zaidi, Maj Gen Rehan Abdul Baqi, Maj Gen Mohammad Ayyub, Rear Admiral Syed Bashir Ahmed, Maj Gen Arshad Mahmood, Maj Gen Khalid Mahmood, Maj Gen Omar Mahmood Hayat, Maj Gen Faheemul Aziz, Maj Gen Sajjad Rasul, Maj Gen Shahid Baig Mirza, Maj Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa, Maj Gen Mohammad Jaffar, Maj Gen Sadiq Ali, Maj Gen Syed Najmul Hassan Shah, Maj Gen Farhan Akhtar, Rear Admiral Waseem Akram, Rear Admiral Farrokh Ahmad, Rear Admiral Jamil Akhtar, Maj Gen Ghulam Qamer, Maj Gen Khan Tahir Javed Khan, Maj Gen Umar Farooq Durrani, Maj Gen Aamer Riaz, Maj Gen Ahmad Mahmood Hayat, Maj Gen Anjum Enayat, Maj Gen Ali Abbas Hyder, Maj Gen Abid Rafique, Maj Gen Nasir Dilawar Shah, Maj Gen Abdul Khaliq Naveed, Maj Gen Adil Khan, Maj Gen Amjad Fahim, Maj Gen Sana Ullah Khan (late), Lt Col Tauseef Ahmed, Lt Col Sajid Mushtaq (late), Wing Commander Syed Omer Shah, Wing Cmdr Omair Ahmad Najmi, Wing Cmdr Jamal Akbar Afridi (late), Maj Jahanzeb Adnan (late), Captain Hassan Musahib Javaid, (late) and Capt Naveed Khan (late).
SITARA-e-BASALAT: Captain Yahya Abdul Samad (late), Subedar Ikhlaq Ahmed Khan (late), Naib Subedar Safdar Ali (late), Havaldar Abdul Rauf (late), Lance Naik Mohammad Mushtaq, L-Naik Rahim Khan (late), L-Naik Mohammad Irshad Khan (late), L-Naik Mohammad Irfan Sattar (late) and the late soldiers Mohammad Asif , Abid Ali, Maraj Ahmad Rabbani, Mohammad Shakeel and Shahbaz Ahmad.
Following is the list of recipients of civil awards:
HILAL-e-SHUJAAT: ISI DG Lt Gen Rizwan Akhtar.
HILAL-e-IMTIAZ: Dr Syed Mohammed Junaid Zaidi, Rector of the COMSATS Institute of Information Technology; Riaz Ahmed, adviser to chairman of the Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission; Dr Raza Samar, member, National Engineering and Scientific Commission; Dr Muhammad Riaz Suddle, Mohammad Asghar, Rector, NUST; and Agha Hasan Abedi (late).
SITARA-e-SHUJAAT: Mohammad Hilal (late) Swat, Tahira Qazi (late) Peshawar, and Saima Zareen (late) Peshawar.
SITARA-e-IMTIAZ: Dr Shahid Mahmood Baig, National Institute of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering; Professor Mohammad Umar, Qari Syed Sadaqat Ali, Ma Zhiping, China; Dr Mohammad Imran Yousuf, Riaz Jawed Khawaja, Saudi Arabia; Prof Dr Moazzam Nazeer Tarar, Haris Suleman (late) USA; Dr Zahid Pervaiz, Bashir Dawood, Zahid Hameedi, USA; and Babar Suleman (late ) USA.
PRESIDENTS AWARD FOR PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE: Syed Mohammad Qaisar Abbas Naqvi, Asif Ali Khan, Ata-ur-Rehman, Amir Iqbal Khan, United Kingdom, Samina Baig and Dr Jamal Nasir.
SITARA-e-QUAID-e-AZAM: Dr Peter Langer, Germany, and Dr Sajjad Haider Karim, UK.
TAMGHA-e-SHUJAAT: Mazhar Ali (late) Peshawar, Mehmood-ul-Hassan (late), Tariq (late) Bajaur Agency, Wajid Ali (late) Peshawar, Ashok Kumaar (late), Javed (late), Mohammad Khan, Swat; Amir Rang Zeb (late) Buner; Inayatullah, Dera Ismail Khan; Farman Ali, Peshawar; Col Masood Ahmed Babar, Islamabad; Safdar Nawaz, Multan; and Dr Nasrulah Khan Shaji (late) Karachi;
TAMGHA-e-IMTIAZ: Dr Masroor Ikram, Islamabad; Prof Khan Shah Zaman Khan, Karachi; Prof Abdul Bari Khan, Karachi; Prof Dr Ahmad Yousif A. Al Draiweesh, Islamabad; Al Haj Molvi Rayazudddin Ahmed (late) Karachi; Prof Dr Tahir Masood, Karachi; Jamshed Masroor, Jamshed Iqbal Rana, Oslo; Minhaj Mohammad Khan (Minhaj Barna), Rawalpindi; and Dr Nauman Hamid Niaz.
Names of other recipients were published in Dawns Monday issue