Kandy SC to participate in inaugural Asian Club Championship (Daily Financial Times (Sri Lanka))

The Kandy Sports Club will represent Sri Lanka as the Club Champions for 2015 at the inaugural Asian Club Championship which will take place in the Middle-East from 11 to 18 September.

Unfortunately Kandy SC will be sending their second string side due to national duty for more than six of their players at the Asian Sevens Series in China. Furthermore, their regular skipper Fazil Marija is out for two weeks due to an injury.

Four championship-winning clubs from the most recent respective cross-border or domestic competitions in the UAE, GCC, Sri Lanka and Kazakhstan – Abu Dhabi Saracens RFC, Doha RFC, Kandy SC and Olymp RFC – will play against each other in order to decide the champions of West Asia.

Kandy SC, league and Clifford Cup champions will be leaving on 9 September with Sean Wijesinghe as the Captain cum Coach. They will miss out on Nigel Ratwatte as well as the following players who will be on national duty – Srinath Sooriyabandara, Shehan Pathirana, Anurudda Wilwara, Richard Darmapala, Lavanga Perera, and Gayan Weerartne.

Touring squad: Kishore Jehan, Damith Dissanayake, Piyumal Manchanayaka, Suyuru Anthony, Dimithri Wijethunga, Shashika Jayawardana, Asitha Rathnayake, Buwanaka Udangamuwa, Thilina Wijesinghe, Arshad Jamaldeen, Dhanshaya Dayan, Thisila Devinda, Roshan Weerarathne, Lochana Girihagama, Vishawamithra Jayasinghe,Tharindu Chanaka, Oscar Ouma, Koto Pongi and Sean Wijesinghe.